Big West Honors Terrell Jones, Megan Ching For Outstanding Work in the Classroom

Big West Honors Terrell Jones, Megan Ching For Outstanding Work in the Classroom
Anaheim, Ca - Terrell Jones and Megan Ching, two prominent members of the Cal State men's and women's basketball teams, were honored Thursday morning by the Big West Conference for their outstanding work in the classroom as well as their achievements in athletics.

Jones and Ching were among 16 conference student-athletes selected as 2007 Big West Conference Scholar-Athletes. For Ching, it was the second straight year that the Matador senior has been honored for her academic success.

Jones, a senior from Carson, Calif., will graduate this year with a degree in Business Administration. Jones' future plans include post-graduate work and later going into real estate.

"I am so proud of the accomplishments of Terrell," said Cal State head men's basketball coach Bobby Braswell. "He is the epitome of what the student-athlete represents. He has been a jewel for us. On the wall of our locker room, we have the ABC's of our program. The letters represent Academics, Basketball and Character. Terrell fits all those requirements."

Jones arrived on the Cal State Northridge campus as a walk-on four years ago, but through hard work and dedication, earned a scholarship and became a major contributor to the basketball program. Jones is a two-time Big West All-Academic selection, has been named several times to the Dean's List at Cal State Northridge, been involved in church activities, and was recently named the Big West Best Hustle Player of the Year by the eight head coaches in the conference. During his four-year career at Cal State Northridge, Jones played in 116 games, and during the 2006-07 season, was among the Big West leaders in free throw shooting (.843) and offensive rebounds (67). Jones started 16 games this year and averaged 8.0 points (#5 on the team) and 4.4 rebounds per game (#3 on the team).

Ching is a senior guard from Honolulu, Hawaii, who has started the last 19 games for the Matadors. Ching helped Cal State Northridge to a 9-5 record in the Big West Conference this year. During the past four seasons, Ching has played in 108 games, and is third all-time in the school record book in assists (321). During her junior season, Ching dished out a career-high ten assists against Cal Poly and Southeastern Louisiana. Her career best in points included 13 points against Washington State and Portland during her junior season. Her career best in rebounding was ten against UC Santa Barbara last year.

In addition to her success on the court, Ching has been selected to the Big West All-Academic team.

Ching will graduate this year with a degree in Biology. Ching plans on attending medical school and becoming a doctor.

"Megan is a great team player," said Matador head women's basketball coach Staci Schulz. "She is so unselfish. She always puts the needs of the team first."

Also honored at the Big West Conference Scholar-Athlete banquet were three Cal State Northridge teams. The Matador women's basketball team was given the 2006 Winter Sportsmanship Award while the men's soccer team was recipient of the 2006 Fall Sportsmanship Award. The Big West Sportsmanship Award highlights those teams that have shown exemplary sportsmanship in their sport. Voted on by the student-athletes, the Sportsmanship Award honors those teams displaying a high degree of ethics, honesty and fair play.

In addition, the Big West Conference honored the Cal State Northridge women's volleyball team with the 2006 Team G.P.A. Award. This award is given to the best team grade point average in a Big West sport on each campus.

On hand to honor Jones and Ching were family and friends, members of the Cal State Northridge athletic department including Athletic Director Rick Mazzuto, and University President Dr. Jolene Koester.

During the past five years, numerous Cal State Northridge student-athletes have been honored by the Big West Conference their achievements both in the classroom and on the field of competition. The list includes Agara Comfort (track & field), Jennifer Dishner (softball), Douglas English (volleyball), Sandra Milchiker (softball), Yossi Raz (men's soccer), Jason Romero (track & field), Eckhard Walter (men's volleyball), Laura Szymanski Walter (women's volleyball) and Brian Waite (volleyball).