Christian Allen Named 2010 Recipient of Lyman Bostock Memorial Scholarship

April 27, 2010

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. - Freshman first baseman/outfielder Christian Allen has been named the 2010 recipient of the Lyman Bostock Memorial Scholarship as chosen by the CSUN coaching staff.

Scholarship recipients are chosen due to their work ethic, leadership skills, and success on the diamond, with an added emphasis placed on the successes earned off the diamond as well.

Allen is batting .231 in 18 games played during his rookie season at Northridge, and is working diligently to learn as much as possible in an effort to earn a spot in the starting lineup as his collegiate career progresses.

Originally drafted by the St. Louis Cardinals out of high school, Bostock did not end up signing with the team, and decided to attend CSUN after speaking with then-head coach Bob Hiegert.

Known for his tenacity on the field and compassion towards others off the diamond, outfielder Lymon Bostock was a member of the 1971 and 1972 baseball teams at Cal State Northridge (then San Fernando Valley State) before being drafted in the 26th round of the 1972 Major League Baseball draft by the Minnesota Twins.

During his four seasons with the Twins, he finished in fourth place during the ultra-competitive American League batting race in 1976, his first full season at the major league level, and finished in second place behind then-teammate, and Hall of Fame member, Rod Carew.

Prior to his passing, Bostock and his former college coach, Bob Hiegert, were in the process of creating a scholarship in his name for those baseball players in need who display an uncompromising level of character and integrity as a student-athlete of Cal State Northridge.

The annual scholarship is funded in part by investment income and gifts from Bostock's friends and teammates.

Past Recipients of the Lyman Bostock Memorial Scholarship

1980: Rondal Rollins

1981: Reggie Sells

1982: Michael Holmes

1983: Michael Holmes

1984: Bryant Long

1986: Craig Burns

1988: Geoff Curtis

2008: C.J. Belanger and Jimmy Jolicoeur

Text-Only Website