Matadors Earn 12 Spots on Big West Conference All-Academic Fall Sports Team

Dec. 18, 2009


Complete Big West All-Academic Fall Sports Team in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

A total of 12 Cal State Northridge student-athletes earned a spot on the 2009 Big West Conference All-Academic Fall Sports Team. Women's cross country and soccer led the way for the Matadors, placing four members each on the squad.

For Don Strametz and his women's cross country team, seniors Marissa Crook (Kinesiology) and Sandra Velarde (Education) were joined by juniors Lilyana Morejon (Urban Studies) and Nanci Velarde (Kinesiology). As a team, the Matadors finished seventh at the 2009 Big West Cross Country Championships with Morejon's third-place finish, the highest finish by a Matador since 2005, leading the way.

Head Coach Keith West saw four members of his women's soccer team earn a spot on the team: senior Kelley Ross (Liberal Studies), junior Katie Fox (Kinesiology) and sophomores Brielle Slepicoff (Biology) and Alexis Barbara (Undeclared). For Fox and Slepicoff, this is the second time in 2009 that they have been recognized by the league, as they earned All-Big West Second Team and All-Big West Honorable Mention honors, respectively.

In women's volleyball, senior Tela Burnett (Consumer Science) and junior Siara Grayson (Civil Engineering) earned a spot on the team for head coach Jeff Stork. Burnett was fifth on the team with 102 kills while Grayson added 17 in 2009. The women's volleyball team finished the year 8-22 overall and 4-12 against Big West opponents.

Finally, sophomore Matthew Chavez (Finance) and redshirt freshman Joe Franco (Accounting) were selected from the men's soccer team. The Matadors, led by Big West Conference Coach of the Year Terry Davila, finished 10-8-2 overall for fourth place in the conference.

To qualify for the team, student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of their team's contests or events while maintaining 3.2 cumulative GPA. The student-athletes also must have been at their respective university for at least one year.