Matadors Have Five Players Named to All-MPSF Team

April 23, 2009

Second-ranked Cal State Northridge matched a school record with five All-MPSF selections, led by two-time First Team honoree Eric Vance, as the all-conference team was announced by the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation on Thursday, Apr. 23.

With five selections to the All-MPSF squad, the 2009 Matadors match the 2004 and 2008 Northridge teams which also had five players named All-MPSF. The Matadors have now had 28 players named all-conference since the 2002 season.

"We're really proud of the effort these guys put in all year," said head coach Jeff Campbell. "They're all really deserving of the honors they received and we're proud that they're representing our school."

Vance, a senior from Camarillo, Calif., became the first Matador player to be named to the All-MPSF First Team in back-to-back seasons since the inception of the MPSF in 1993. Coley Kyman was a unanimous First Team All-WIVA pick in 1992 and was a First Team All-MPSF selection in 1993. Vance led Northridge and was among the national leaders during the regular season in kills (573), kills per game (5.51) while serving a school-record 56 aces. Vance was a three-time MPSF Player of the Week as well as a two-time Sports Imports/AVCA Player of the Week in 2009.

Also named to the 2009 all-conference team were junior Jacek Ratajczak (Second Team), freshman Matt Stork (Third Team), junior Kevin McKniff (Third Team) and junior Ali'i Keohohou (Honorable Mention). Stork was also named setter on the seven-player MPSF All-Freshman Team.

Ratajczak, a middle blocker from Warsaw, Poland, led the Matadors in total blocks (110), ranked second on the squad in hitting percentage (.460) and was fourth in both kills (247) and kills per game (2.40). Ratajczak, who was named MPSF Co-Player of the Week on Mar. 2, finished the regular season ranked third in the MPSF in hitting.

Stork, a setter from Topanga, Calif., led the nation in assists per game (14.12) while piling up 1,468 assists which ranks ninth on the Northridge single-season list. Stork led Northridge to a .336 team hitting percentage which was third-best in the nation.

McKniff, a middle blocker from Tucson, Ariz., earned All-MPSF honors for the second straight season as he was an Honorable Mention pick in 2008. McKniff led the Matadors in hitting at .474 and was fifth with 223 kills. He finished second to Ratajczak in blocks with 102 (eight solo). McKniff's hitting percentage was among the top-five in the MPSF all season.

Keohohou, a libero from Newbury Park, Calif., led the Matadors with 293 digs which ranked third in the MPSF. His digs total ranks second in Northridge single-season history as does his digs per game average of 2.87.

The All-MPSF honors are the first for Ratajczak, Stork and Keohohou.

Cal State Northridge opens the MPSF Tournament on Saturday, Apr. 25 as the third-seeded Matadors host sixth-seeded BYU in a quarterfinal match at 7 p.m. in The Matadome.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR Paul Carroll, Opposite, Pepperdine

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Carson Clark, Opposite, UC Irvine

COACH OF THE YEAR Kevin Ring, UC San Diego

ALL-MPSF FIRST-TEAM Paul Carroll, Opposite, Pepperdine Eric Vance, Outside Hitter, Cal State Northridge Dean Bittner, Opposite, Long Beach State Murphy Troy, Outside Hitter, USC Ryan Ammerman, Setter, UC Irvine Carson Clark, Opposite, UC Irvine Kawika Shoji, Setter, Stanford

ALL-MPSF SECOND-TEAM Andrew Stewart, Outside Hitter, BYU Futi Tavana, Middle Blocker, BYU Jacek Ratajczak, Middle Blocker, Cal State Northridge Erik Shoji, Libero, Stanford Kevin Wynne, Middle Blocker, UC Irvine Dustin Watten, Libero, Long Beach State Garrett Muagututia, Outside Hitter, UCLA

ALL-MPSF THIRD-TEAM Spencer McLachlin, Outside Hitter, Stanford Brad Lawson, Outside Hitter, Stanford Dan Alexander, Middle Blocker, Long Beach State Tony Ciarelli, Outside Hitter, USC Jordan DuFault, Outside Hitter, UC Irvine Matt Stork, Setter, Cal State Northridge Kevin McKniff, Middle Blocker, Cal State Northridge

ALL-MPSF HONORABLE MENTION Yamil Perez, Setter, BYU Taylor Wilson, Outside Hitter, UC Irvine Jeff Menzel, Outside Hitter, UC Santa Barbara Austin Zahn, Middle Blocker, USC Ali'i Keohohou, Libero, Cal State Northridge Scott Slaughter, Middle Blocker, UC Santa Barbara Phil Bannan, Setter, UC San Diego Evan Romero, Opposite, Stanford Kasey Crider, Setter, Pepperdine Riley McKibbin, Setter, USC Ric Cervantes, Libero, Hawaii Sean Grubbs, Libero, Pepperdine Sean Daley, Middle Blocker, Pacific Thomas Amberg, Middle Blocker, UCLA

ALL-MPSF FRESHMEN TEAM Carson Clark, Opposite, UC Irvine Futi Tavana, Middle Blocker, BYU Matt Stork, Setter, Cal State Northridge Erik Shoji, Libero, Stanford Tony Ciarelli, Outside Hitter, USC Brad Lawson, Outside Hitter, Stanford Jim Baughman, Middle Blocker, Long Beach State


Text-Only Website