Margo Dionisio, Ashlee Nagamine Named to All-Big West Women's Golf Team

April 27, 2010

Freshman Margo Dionisio and junior Ashlee Nagamine were both named honorable mention as the Big West named its 2010 all-conference team. The duo are the first Northridge golfers since 2008 to earn all-conference honors.

Dionisio, a freshman from Whittier, Calif., and Nagamine, a junior from Aiea, Hawai'i, finished one-two on the Matadors in stroke average this season. Dionisio was first averaging 77.7 strokes per round after compiling 1,399 strokes over 18 rounds. Nagamime was second averaging 77.8 shots per round after taking 1,633 shots over 21 rounds. Nagamine was one of two Northridge golfers to play in all eight tournaments.

Dionisio also had four top-10 finishes and one top-20 finish. Nagamine posted two wins in the fall and had four top-20 finishes.

Northridge finished fifth at the Big West Championship while Dionisio was 11th and Nagamine was 20th.

"I'm very happy for Margo and Ashlee," said head coach Bonnie Murphy. "They both worked very hard this season and are very deserving of all-conference honors."

UC Davis junior Alice Kim claimed Big West Women's Golfer of the Year honors. UCD also nabbed the Freshman of the Year in Amy Simanton, while Aggie head coach Anne Walker was dubbed the Coach of the Year.

UC Davis had four of the six first team all-conference selections. Long Beach State and UC Irvine claimed the final two first team slots.

Big West Women's Golfer of the Year Alice Kim, UC Davis

Big West Freshman of the Year Amy Simanton, UC Davis

Big West Women's Golf Coach of the Year Anne Walker, UC Davis

First Team All-Big West Simone Hoey, Long Beach State Alice Kim, UC Davis Hilary Packard, UC Irvine Demi Runas, UC Davis Amy Simanton, UC Davis Chelsea Stelzmiller, UC Davis

Second Team All-Big West Amelia Ek, UC Riverside Maddy Fletcher, Cal Poly Kimberly Johnson, UC Davis Lalita Patipaksiri, UC Irvine Noelle Zavaleta, Long Beach State

Honorable Mention All-Big West Margo Dionisio, Cal State Northridge Lindsey McAtee, Long Beach State Ashlee Nagamine, Cal State Northridge Julia Puscheck, Cal Poly Monica Villarreal, Long Beach State


Text-Only Website