Strametz Named Women's Coach of the Year, Horsley Earns Men's Freshman of the Year

May 19, 2011

Complete Big West Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

IRVINE, Calif. - Don Strametz earned the Big West Conference Women's Track & Field Coach of the Year while first-year sprinter Carl Horsley was named Big West Men's Freshman of the Year as the postseason track & field awards were handed out by the conference.

Strametz, a winner of the conference's Women's Coach of the Year a record eight times, added a final chapter to his illustrious career. He has now earned Big West Coach of the Year accolades 13 times since 2002 including both men's and women's honors in 2004, 2007, 2009 and 2010.

"I don't win coach of the year awards unless my assistant coaches do a great job," said Strametz. "I thought Avery (Anderson) did a great job of analyzing the meet and figuring out where our women could score the most points. Everything kind of fell into place for us, we did a lot of good things and quite a few things went our way."

Horsley becomes the second Northridge athlete to earn Big West Men's Freshman of the Year honors after Reindell Cole won the award in 2008. Horsley had a memorable first conference championship becoming the second Matador sprinter in the last three years to sweep both the 100 and 200 meters. Horsley ran a season-best 10.55 in the 100 and clocked a time of 21.17 in the 200. Horsley also ran the opening leg of the conference champion 4x100 relay that finished in a season-best 40.57.

"Carl is a hard worker who deserves this award," said associate head coach Avery Anderson who was Horsley's sprint coach. "He wasn't the most heralded athlete coming out of high school but his season is a testament to what can be accomplished when you combine a great athlete with the tradition of a great sprint program."

Cal State Northridge will send Horsley along with 14 men and women to compete in the NCAA West Preliminary Round at Oregon's Historic Hayward Field May 26-28.


Women's Track Athlete of the Year
Ciara Short, Cal State Fullerton

Women's Field Athlete of the Year
Ashley Gatewood, UC Riverside

Women's Freshman of the Year
Danielle Littleton, UC Riverside

Women's Coach of the Year
Don Strametz, Northridge

Men's Track Athlete of the Year
Charles Jock, UC Irvine
Ryan Martin, UC Santa Barbara

Men's Field Athlete of the Year
Colin Dunbar, Long Beach State

Men's Freshman of the Year
Carl Horsley, Northridge

Men's Coach of the Year
Andy Sythe, Long Beach State


Text-Only Website