Morejon Takes Sixth, Matador Men and Women Eighth at Big West Championships

Oct. 31, 2010

RIVERSIDE, Calif. - Lilyana Morejon finished sixth to lead the Cal State Northridge women to an eighth-place team finish while Hunter Hays also led the Matador men to an eighth place finish at the 2010 Big West Cross Country Championships.

The women's team tallied 207 points after Morejon finished sixth on the 6k course UC Riverside Agriculture Course. Morejon, who was third at the 2009 Big West Championships and 15th in 2008, ran 20:41.5 on Saturday after clocking a time of 20:36.3 in 2009.

Zitlalic Ley was Northridge's next highest finisher as she placed 47th in a time of 22:24.0. Araceli Zainos finished 55th in 22:50.7, Fany Alvarado finished 62nd in 23:32.3, Yvonne Castillo-Urbina finished 63rd in 23:48.5, Vanessa Carr finished 64th in 23:53.0, Mallory Day was 65th in 24:00.0, Ana Rosales was 66th in 24:06.8 and Jazmin Martinez placed 70th in 25:42.9.

The Northridge women posted a total time of 1:53:17.0 and an average time of 22:39.40. UC Santa Barbara took home the women's team championship with 35 points just edging Cal Poly which had 37 points. UCSB's Amanda Moreno ran `9:57.0 to win the individual women's title.

In the men's 8k, Hays finished a Matador-best 42nd in a time of 25:44.4. Hays improved on his 68th finish at last season's conference championship meet. The Matadors' leading runner Juan Olea finished 53rd in 26:20.0, Michael McEvoy was 63rd in 28:11.3, Marvin Gonzales was 64th in 28:17.6, Masis Hagobian was 65th in 28:20.3, Tawei Ma was 66th in 28:35.2 and Daniel Gonzales finished 67th in 29:00.6.

As a team, CSUN tallied 248 points, a total time of 2:15:25,30 and an average time of 27:05.06. UC Davis claimed the men's team title with 64 points, two better than UC Riverside. The Aggies' Jon Peterson won the men's individual in a time of 23:40.2.